Minnesota Vikings

Home » Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings franchise represents the state of Minnesota in the NFL. They have headquarters at Eagan, Minnesota, at the TCO Performance Center. Their home field is U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The represent the NFC North division of the National Football Conference. They are one of a select group of NFL teams that have yet to win the Super Bowl. 

The group that started the franchise was made up of five individuals: Max Winter, E. William Boyer, H.P. Skoglund, Ole Haugsrud, and Bernard H. Ridder, Jr. In the late summer of 1960, Bert Rose, a former Public Relations Director for the Los Angeles Rams, was appointed as the team's first General Manager.

All About the Minnesota Vikings

Thus far, the pinnacle hours in franchise history are several decades old at this point. In 1969, just before the AFL-NFL merger was about to take place, the Minnesota Vikings won the NFL championship over the Cleveland Browns. However, they fell in defeat to the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl IV. The Vikings would also lose in Super Bowl VIII, Super Bowl IX, amd Super Bowl XI. This last appearance, at Super Bowl XI, came on January 9th, 1977. They have not returned to the NFL's championship game since that season, despite a significant amount of regular-season success.

The Vikings have compiled a 516-425-11 record over the decades in regular-season action. The Vikings are among a quartet of Minnesota-based major league teams that could be noted for a lack of playoff success relative to their opponents. The Vikings have never won the Super Bowl. The NBA's Minnesota Timberwolves have never won the NBA title. The NHL's Minnesota Wild have never won the Stanley Cup. A previous NHL team, the Minnesota North Stars (now the Dallas Stars), never won the Stanley Cup. Meanwhile, MLB's Minnesota Twins have not won the World Series since the 1991 season.

The Minnesota Vikings Management Personnel

Owners: Leonard Zygi and Mark Wilf

Chairman: Zygi Wilf

President: Mark Wilf

General Manager: Kwesi Adofo-Mensah

Head Coach: Kevin O'Connell


Great Players That Have Played for the Minnesota Vikings

A lot of Minnesota Vikings players have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, including Warren Moon, Jan Stenerud, Brett Favre, Morten Andersen, Fran Tarkenton, Paul Krause, Hugh McElhenny, Dave Casper, Mick Tingelhoff, Chris Doleman, Jim Langer, Randall McDaniel, Gary Zimmerman, Ron Yary, Steve Hutchinson, Cris Carter, Carl Eller, Randy Moss, Alan Page, and John Randle. Some of these players are more closely associated with other franchises. For instance, Brett Favre is best remembered for his time with the Green Bay Packers. Coaches and executives Jim Finks and Bud Grant have also been inducted. The team's Ring of Honor includes many of these players, as well as Ahmad Rashad, Bill Brown, Chuck Foreman, Joey Browner, Scott Studwell, Matt Blair, Korey Stringer, Steve Jordan, and Kevin Williams.

The Minnesota Vikings Divisional Rivals

The Detroit Lions

The Minnesota Vikings have a series lead over the Detroit Lions. At 80-41-2, it would take almost two decades of complete Detroit dominance to tilt this series against the Vikings. Detroit is a franchise that's noted for futility. Like Minnesota, the Lions have not won the Super Bowl. But Detroit does not have a tradition of winning in the regular season either. The two teams will meet late in the 2023/24 NFL season. Their first game is on December 24th, 2023, and their second game is on January 7th, 2024.

The Green Bay Packers

The Minnesota Vikings trail the Green Bay Packers in the two franchises' head-to-head series. The Green Bay Packers are 65-57-3 on head-to-heads. The two teams have split two games that have taken place in the NFL playoffs. The franchises will resume their rivalry on October 29th, 2023, in the upcoming season. They will also play on December 31st, 2023.

The Chicago Bears

The Minnesota Vikings lead their all-time series against the Chicago Bears 65-57-2. Minnesota enters the 2023/24 NFL season with a four-game winning streak over Chicago. The two franchises will meet in Week 6, on October 15th, 2023, and in Week 12, November 27th, 2023.

Minnesota Vikings Facts

Here's a list of everything you need to know about Minnesota's achievements as a professional football franchise. 

Championship Wins

1969 (NFL Championship) 

The Vikings have not won the Super Bowl. 

NFL/NFC Conference Championships

NFL Western: 1969

NFC: 1973, 1974, 1976

Divisional Championships

Minnesota has 21 divisional championships, subdivided into the following: 

NFL Central 

  • 1968
  • 1969 

NFC Central 

  • 1970
  • 1971
  • 1973
  • 1974
  • 1975
  • 1976
  • 1977
  • 1978
  • 1980
  • 1989
  • 1992
  • 1994
  • 1998
  • 2000 

NFC North 

  • 2008
  • 2009
  • 2015
  • 2017
  • 2022

NFL Playoff Appearances

1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2022

Minnesota Vikings Home Fields

  • Metropolitan Stadium (1961–1981)
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (1982–2013)
  • TCF Bank Stadium (2014–2015)
  • U.S. Bank Stadium (2016–present)

Welcome to the Minnesota Vikings FAQs!

Have the Vikings Won the National Football League?

Are you curious about the Vikings' NFL history? While they haven't won an official Super Bowl, they did clinch the NFL title before the 1970 merger. Then, they lost in the Super Bowl to an AFL team. Technically, speaking, yes, the Minnesota Vikings have won the NFL championships -- just not in its modern form. The Vikings have also made it to the Super Bowl three other times, but unfortunately they always came up short. However, if you're feeling confident about their future performance, you can always head over to a licensed bookmaker and check out their Super Bowl odds.

What about fantasy sports and other betting lines?

Looking for other betting options? Betting game to game can often provide good value. Keep an eye on the Vikings' social media pages and read up on their form through different sources such as gamepass games, insights, and location network news. You can then choose to bet on the team performance or individual player performances. 

If you're into fantasy football, you can download a draft fantasy filter and choose from top Vikings players such as Kirk Cousins and/or Justin Jefferson. With so many NFL sites offering fantasy football, make sure you choose a regulated site that offers features such as an audio gallery and promo offers for the ultimate experience.

Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER CO, DC, IL, IN, LA, MD, MS, NJ, OH, PA, TN, VA, WV, WY Call 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY) Call 1-800-327-5050 (MA) 21+ to wager. Please Gamble Responsibly. Call 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (KS, NV), 1-800 BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-270-7117 for confidential help (MI) Copyright © 2023 ThePicks.